BARA VOLUNTEER DAY with Thorpe Nature Experience

location: Sombrero Marsh, 1466 N 63rd Street, Boulder, CO 80303

start time: Jun 13, 2019 11:30:00 AM EDT / 9:30 AM MDT

end time: Jun 13, 2019 3:00:00 PM EDT / 1:00 PM MDT

About this Event

Please contact Lisa Wade 303-489-6241 or lisawade@boulderco.com  to get signed up to volunteer!

  • Location: Sombrero Marsh, 1466 N 63rd Street, Boulder, CO 80303. Please park your car along the chain link fence, or your bike on the rack in front of the building, and walk to the front door of the Environmental Education Center.  Come inside so Thorne staff can greet you.
  • Date: Thu 5/23/2019 & Thu 6/13/2019
  • Time: Timing for the day is flexible.  Please participate for the portions that work best for you! 
    • Intro: 9:30-10:00am
    • Shift: 10:00-12:45pm
    • Closing: 12:45-1:00pm
    •  
  • Number of People: around 40 is probably ideal  
  • Bring: lunch (or plan to go out for lunch), clothes appropriate for the weather and walking on dirt paths, water bottle, travel mug, sunscreen, curiosity, and smiles!  Thorne will provide snacks, coffee, and tea. 
  • Description: Thorne Nature Experience delivers environmental education programs to over 13,000 kids each year, most of whom are low income.  We need your help to get these kids outside and connecting to the wild landscapes of Colorado!  Volunteer your time to support Thorne's educational programs and take care of the land at Sombrero Marsh while connecting yourself to nature too.  Volunteers will help with both outdoor projects (exotic species removal, trail work, gardening, and litter collection) and indoor projects (creating program supplies and preparing marketing materials).  If you're interested in getting even more involved with Thorne, fill out our Volunteer Application, support our mission and Donate, or read more about our work at www.thornenature.org.

 

Event organizer

Jacquelyn Malishenko