2020 Radon and the Unsick House

location: 4790 Table Mesa Drive Suite 200, Boulder, CO 80305

start time: Jan 29, 2020 4:00:00 PM EST / 2:00 PM MST

end time: Jan 29, 2020 6:00:00 PM EST / 4:00 PM MST

About this Event

CE Credits - 2

Radon - Misperceptions and Reality

It's RADON AWARENESS MONTH! Do you really know the truth about radon and its dangers? The deadly danger is very real as radon is the second largest cause of lung cancer. Many Realtors actually do not fully understand radon risks in all homes. This course is intended to increase your knowledge of radon, health risks, testing, and remediation. We discuss where it comes from, its effect on health, and the latest testing techniques as well as misperceptions about radon in homes. Is there radon in a home with no basement?  Or just built on a slab?  When should we test? We also discuss how radon mitigation works and its long term function. We even discuss the frequent improper installation of mitigation systems.

 

The Un-sick House 

The course discusses common house-health worries including mold, asbestos, lead-based paint, and UFFI (urea formaldehyde). The media tends to hype these issues and we try to put these issues into context. The risks with some of these are significant to you and your client, and some less so.  The concerns should not stop a deal, but some just would need to be dealt with and corrected. We also have a brief discussion about radon as well.