Colorado Proposition 119, Creation of Out-of-School Education Program and Marijuana Sales Tax

location: WEBINAR

start time: Oct 22, 2021 12:00:00 PM EDT / 10:00 AM MDT

end time: Oct 22, 2021 1:00:00 PM EDT / 11:00 AM MDT

About this Event

Speakers Against: Mariah Shaw, Government Affairs Manager - Terrapin Care Station and Evie Hudak, former Colorado State Senator - Cannabis Community for Fairness and Safety

Speaker for: KC Becker, Colorado General Assembly member, Speaker of the House - VOTE Yes on PROP 119

PROPOSITION SUMMARY:
Shall state taxes be increased $137,600,000 annually on retail marijuana sales by a change to the Colorado revised statutes concerning the creation of a program to provide out-of-school learning opportunities for Colorado children aged 5 to 17, and, in connection therewith, creating an independent state agency to administer the program for out-of-school learning opportunities chosen by parents; funding the program by increasing the retail marijuana sales tax by 5% by 2024 and reallocating a portion of the public school lands income; authorizing transfers and revenue for program funding as a voter-approved revenue change; specifying that learning opportunities include tutoring and extra instruction in subjects including reading, math, science, writing, music, and art, targeted support for children with special needs and learning disabilities, career and technical education training, and other academic or enrichment opportunities; and prioritizing program financial aid for low-income students?

Event organizer

Debra Kuzemchak Director of Education and Communications